You are here

People Watch

People Watch

University Business, April 2012
John deSteiguer
John deSteiguer

During his nine-year tenure as senior vice president for advancement at Oklahoma Christian University, John deSteiguer contributed to reaching a record $110 million in donor giving. He’ll put this experience, and his previous experience at Northeastern State University (Okla.), to use as OC’s new president, effective in June. He succeeds Mike O’Neal, president since 2002.

Cynthia G. Baum is now leading Walden University. She formerly served as the for-profit online university’s executive vice president. A clinical psychologist, Baum has worked in the nonprofit sector at the American Psychological Association.

Robert C. Helmer, president of Lourdes University (Ohio), will become president of Baldwin-Wallace College (Ohio) as of July 1. Richard W. Durst is retiring from that post, which he’s held since 2006.

Warren Wilson College (N.C.) named Steven L. Solnick president, effective July 1. Currently with the Ford Foundation, he will succeed Sandy Pfeiffer, who is retiring.

Thomas R. Prohaska will become dean of George Mason University’s College of Health and Human Services (Va.) on July 1.

Christopher Sohn will be the new senior vice president for business and chief financial officer at Cedarville University (Ohio), beginning July 1.

John R. Bourne joined American Sentinal University as the online university’s provost March 1.

Register now for UBTech 2018

Register now for UBTech 2018, June 4-6 at the Mirage, Las Vegas. At UBTech 2018, you’ll network with a dynamic community of higher ed leaders who are shaping the future of campus technology and explore topics like cyber security, distance learning, campus learning space design, communications, personalized learning and more. Your UBTech registration also includes a free pass to the InfoComm exhibit hall.

Register now>>