You are here

Community Colleges

On the Move

University Business, July/August 2012
Mel Shiavelli
Mel Shiavelli

Mel Shiavelli has been named executive vice president at Northern Virginia Community College. The former president and CEO of Harrisburg University of Science and Technology (Pa.) since 2002 and a charter member of the Manufacturing Institute’s Education Council, Shiavelli started in his new role July 1.

The National Association for Community College Entrepreneurship has added three new members to its board of directors. The new additions include Cris Valdez, president of Edison Community College (Ohio); Edwin Massey, president of Indian River State College (Fla.); and Susan May, president of Fox Valley Technical College (Wis.).

Patricia Adkins, president of Yuba College (Calif.), will lead Ashland Community and Technical College (Ky.) as of September 1. She succeeds Greg Adkins, who retired June 30.

Steve J. Tyrell, former vice president for student affairs at Alfred State College (N.Y.), is now president of North Country Community College (N.Y.). Both institutions are part of the State University of New York system.

Ivy Tech Community College Northwest (Ind.) has named Aco Sikoski and Rick Soria as vice chancellors and deans for the Valparaiso and Michigan City Pejic campuses. In their new roles, they will be responsible for the daily administrative operations.

Ryan C. Purdy is now president of Mid-Plains Community College (Neb.), where he had previously served as interim president. Purdy was formerly the associate vice-president of administrative services.

Mike Bower has left his role as president of Lake Region State College (N.D.) and is now the sixth president of Owens Community College (Ohio), effective since July 1.

Terrence Gomes, who served as president of Roxbury Community College (Mass.) for the past nine years, stepped down from his role on June 18, after numerous allegations against him arose, including the alleged underreporting of campus crime.