Jayne Marie Comstock Named Winthrop's Tenth President

Kristen Domonell's picture

Dr. Jayne Marie Comstock was chosen Friday by the Winthrop University Board of Trustees to become the 10th president of the 127-year-old Rock Hill institution.

Comstock, currently director of the Executive Leadership Group for the American Council on Education in Washington, D.C., is on sabbatical from Butler University in Indianapolis, where she was provost and vice president for academic affairs. Prior to her work at Butler, Comstock was the chief academic officer and professor of communication at Millikin University and Baker University. She also held administrative and faculty posts at Saint Louis University and the University of West Florida.

Winthrop Board Chair Dalton Floyd offered Comstock the new position via a mid-day call to her Washington, D.C., office. Floyd reported the just-concluded unanimous vote of the trustees, then added, “so I am now authorized to officially offer you the opportunity to become the next president of Winthrop University. Do you accept?”

Read more