Coppin Faculty Votes 'No Confidence' In University President

Ann McClure's picture
Monday, February 27, 2012

The faculty at Coppin State University overwhelmingly expressed no confidence in the institution's president, Reginald Avery, in a vote taken Monday, according to letters obtained late Thursday by The Baltimore Sun.

Fifty-five faculty members indicated that they are not satisfied with the leadership of Avery, who has been the school's head since January 2008. Thirteen faculty members opposed the no-confidence vote during the all-faculty meeting.

"[Avery] has brought neither a clear vision of mission to CSU, nor established a coherent or viable strategic plan, nor wisely allocated resources," wrote Nicholas Eugene, the leader of the university's faculty senate, in a letter dated Wednesday to William E. Kirwan, chancellor of the state's university system. "We feel that despite the efforts of faculty, Dr. Avery's leadership has resulted in a dilution of the academic quality at CSU."

Eugene appended an eight-page list of grievances to the letter, outlining "troubling issues" that the faculty has brought up to Avery, the letter said.

Read more

UBTech Conference, June 15-17, Orlando, FL

Learn more & register