American Association Of Community Colleges To Spotlight Winners April 23 In San Francisco

Ann McClure's picture

WASHINGTON -- Twenty-five community colleges from across the nation have been named finalists in a new national program designed to recognize innovation and promising practices among two-year colleges. The Awards of Excellence is sponsored by the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), which established the program to align with key recommendations of the 21st-Century Commission on the Future of Community Colleges, a blue-ribbon group that issued its findings last spring.

Awards will be given in five categories: Emerging Leadership, Student Success, Exemplary CEO/Board, Advancing Diversity, and Outstanding College/Corporate Partnership. The 25 finalists and the winner in each category will be presented April 23 during the closing plenary brunch of the 2013 AACC Convention in San Francisco, California.

“Over an 18-month period, the 21st-Century Commission provided a bold and forward-thinking blueprint for the community college of the future,” said Marie Gnage, chair of the AACC Board of Directors. “With these new awards, AACC intends to elevate community colleges that are in the vanguard of progressive practices. The awardees will receive national visibility, but the spotlight on their exemplary practices will ultimately benefit all community colleges.”

Read more